Book Review: The Lost Heirs by A. Moran-Soley

TheLostHeirs

5stars

Genre: MG/YA Fantasy

All-ages approved. A clean, cringe-free read.

In The Lost Heirs, A. Moran-Smoley has created a world of adventure and secrets, where things are not always what they seem. 14 year-old Eric is just trying to stay out of trouble at his boarding school when he finds himself sucked into a mysterious world called Eshla. Joel, the reluctant prince of this strange new land, needs Eric’s help to retrieve the missing stones that will free his brothers from their rock prisons; only an earthling can travel back and forth between the two worlds. Eric enlists the help of his three friends and travels back in time to 1927 to retrieve the first stone.

What I Like:

I’m a huge fan of British boarding school stories, so this one grabbed me from the get-go. I loved the four main characters and felt like I was there with them as they struggled to find the Bel-Arayba stone. I really enjoyed how British the whole story was—hey, I’m American and things like “jumpers” and “whilst” are exotic. I found the whole story very original and engaging. The author excels at description and setting without becoming too wordy and the story was well paced.

Not So Much:

There was nothing I didn’t like in this book. It could have been longer and I wouldn’t have minded a bit. I would love to see this book hit the mainstream with professional editing, covers, movie deal, etc. It’s definitely got the potential.

Overall:

Highly recommended! A fun, fast read—would be a great read-aloud with the kids! I will be on the lookout for Book 2.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: The Lost Heirs by A. Moran-Soley

    1. Thanks so much for your review! It is fantastic! Good luck with your writing and be sure to let me know when Book 2 is available.

      1. Hello again, I wonder if I could be cheeky and ask you to post your review to Amazon for me? I want to do some promotions in the new year through facebook pages but I think readers might be more confident about buying if it has product reviews. Thank you!

      2. Hi Amanda, My review is already posted on both amazon us and amazon uk by Amy Reece. If you start a Goodreads author page I will be happy to post it there, too. Reviews are so important to indie authors! I hope they will help with your sales. It’s a great book.

      3. Oh! I think I’m having some problems with Amazon reviews. A couple of earlier ones have disappeared too. Thanks for doing that – I’ll check with Amazon. Maybe it takes longer to filter through from the US. I’ll check that the review I wrote for you appears on all those sites too. Bless you, have a great 2015 x

      4. You, too, thanks! I just went in and posted my review on the amazon uk page. It should show up for you fairly soon. I was able to see the original from amazon US through some sort of beta version thing that you may not have been able to see. Hopefully this will work better. Oh, amazon! Why do you taunt us like this???

      5. I know! I’ve just posted mine to the US site too – I just presumed they would link! I think I’ve just posted it to goodreads too but it’s my first look at that so I’m not 100% sure ive done it right. Will set up an author page tomorrow and check it all properly. Take care, I’m off to curl my hair for a new year’s party! X

Leave a Reply

